The most bizarre play I have ever seen in my life occurred in the Dodgers-Diamondbacks game yesterday. In case you missed it, check this out:
One out. Andre Ethier on third, Juan Pierre on second for the Dodgers. Batter hits a line drive up the middle, and both runners take off at the crack of the bat. Pitcher Dan Haren spears the line drive out of the air, then throws the ball to Felipe Lopez at second for the double play. All Lopez has to do is tag second base for the third out, but for some strange reason, he walks right past the bag and tags Pierre for the third out instead. Meanwhile, Ethier just kept running (without going back to tag third) and scores BEFORE Lopez tags Pierre. The DBags run off the field, but meanwhile, the umpires proceed to put the run that Ethier scored on the board. Apparently, the rationale is that if Lopez had simply stepped on 2nd or stepped on 3rd, it would be a force out, and the run would not have counted, regardless of whether Ethier crossed the plate first. But since he chose to TAG Pierre, Ethier scoring first was not negated by the third out. But this makes no sense since Ethier had no business running without going back to tag third first. Arizona could have then appealed the play by throwing to third, except they ran off the field, and were then unable to appeal. The only way I can wrap my head around this is to think of it like a sacrifice fly play, where the runner on third leaves early. But still…what a strange play. Lopez is an idiot.